Cannes Film Fest winners

At this time of every year, it is awards season on the coast of the French Riviera in Cannes. Like in years past, the best of the best, the creme de la creme of international cinema gather together to showcase their work and get voted on by selected members of the Jury.

Founded in 1938, the festival was created in order to rival the Venice Film Festival, which at that time was the only international festival that showcased films from around Europe, including the United States and Asia.



Like in all festivals past, the winners were of a surprising lot and cemented the emergence of Korean filmmakers as like in the Oscar-winning film, “Parasite,” the Korean presence was felt this year once again for Best Actor and Director.

Listed below is the complete set of winners for this year’s prestigious Palm D’Or.

Palme d’Or: “Triangle of Sadness,” directed by Ruben Östlund

Grand Prix: “Stars at Noon,” directed by Claire Denis, and “Close,” directed by Lukas Dhont
Jury Prize: “Eo,” directed by Jerzy Skolimowski, and “Le Otto Montagne,” directed by Charlotte Vandermeersch and Felix van Groeningen

Best director: Park Chan-wook for “Decision to Leave”
Best screenplay: “Boy From Heaven”
Best actress: Zar Amir Ebrahimi for “Holy Spider”
Best actor: Song Kang-ho for “Broker”
Camera d’Or: Gina Gammell and Riley Keough for “War Pony”
Short film Palme d’Or: “The Water Murmurs”

Apart from the winners listed, Award-winning actor, Forrest Whitaker received a Palme d’Or for his career, and Tom Cruise was awarded a surprise honorary Palme d’Or while in town promoting “Top Gun: Maverick” near the beginning of the festival.

The 75th Cannes Film Festival - Photocall for the film "Top Gun: Maverick" Out of Competition